Daily Banter: Day 4

As predicted, it’s raining. I rolled out of bed at 6:20 and went to the grocery store, at which time it was already raining, so I took the wife’s covered wagon.

Stopped at the bank ATM, then went to the store. I filled her gas tank while I was there, and then it really started raining.

I had an envelope with a bill in it that I was going to drop off at the mailbox at the store, but by the time I got from the car to the mailbox, the envelope was so wet that it literally drooped like a wet noodle. Not to mention that I, got soaked.

Power went out twice at the store, and took longer than usual, but got  home by 8.

Sam’s opens at 9 but I looked at the radar and there is a whole bunch of rain moving in. No thanks, I’ve had my bath this morning.

Today is day one of the diet too; fruit day to be exact.

Man, this is gonna suck.

I racked the cider without incident. I’m not sure if it’s done fermenting at this time. I’ll have to watch it a day or so and see if it kicks up again.

The wife had to go to school this morning as there was some kind of fundraiser. She returned at noon.

I was eating a giant bowl of apples, grapes, blueberries, strawberries, and pineapple when she got home.

She damn well knew I was going to diet and this is what she brought home from school:

5 dozen Krispy Kreme doughnuts.

I said nothing because the all the noise…the doughnuts are calling to me. I have held out so far.

Will update throughout the day.

More rain and flash flood advisories are out.

They got it bad up in Corsicana…18 inches and counting.

This stuff will all be  gone tomorrow as a front moves in.

After I ate the fruit, I cooked and ate a ribeye, and I’m still hungry. Maybe a salad.

Stepkid got up at 2:00 and wife gave her four boxes of the doughnuts. Good thing she was heading to the gym.

I hard boiled some eggs for salads.

We watched a movie; Hearts in Atlantis with Anthony Hopkins. It’s based on The Dark Tower series of books by Stephen King. The movie was good.

