Moving Right Along

A week has gone by now after my wife’s surgery. She improves a little every day; getting a little stronger, eating better, and getting around easier it seems. She’s is still on a heavy dose of ibuprofen every eight hours, and it helps as she is unable to take any type of narcotic for pain. I do what I can to help to keep her from overdoing it. She returns to doc for follow-up on Thursday.

She was planning to return to school next Tuesday to teach summer school. That is up in the air at this point.

I had to take down our aquarium upon my return this trip as according to my wife, it was leaking and water was running into the power strip, shorting out the lights. Since I was out of town at the time, I just told her to pull all the plugs and walk away.

After eight days of no circulation or lighting, the 110 gallon aquarium was a stinking cesspool of seething bacteria and death.

We had a small fortune tied up in it, and I pretty much and tossing the whole damn thing into the local dump.

Moving on.

My wife and I did finally close on the ranch property on the day before her surgery, so it’s finally ours.

The auction is scheduled for this Saturday.

My brother coughed up the coin collection, and dropped it off at Dad’s this past weekend. The auction people were rather excited about it as the coins themselves draw a separate crowd above and beyond those that normally attend estate auctions.

At this point, I do not know when I will return depending on the wife’s condition and besides; I still have to fix the dishwasher and the kitchen sink plumbing still leaks. Sigh.

I also have to actually get rid of the live rock from the aquarium, and get rid of the aquarium itself. Unfortunately, I am unable to do it myself and have few friends; even  fewer when I call upon them to haul something heavy.

I ordered a Mantis tiller for the gardens up at the ranch.

I’ll have to buy a full size giganto tiller for the big garden as the disk and plow for the 9N will be auctioned.

I did find the time to make a batch of my lasagne…a little reward for my accomplished tasks.

Update later today:

I replaced the drain pump motor on the d/w. Simple enough by itself, took only a few minutes. It was rerouting all the cords and water lines and shoving that sob back under the cabinet that did me in. After all was connected, power up fill and drain…nada.

I pulled the hose off the disposal and drained again into plastic tub…perfect. WTF? Reconnect but no drain into disposal.

Think, think think. The drain hose comes out of bottom of d/w and goes all the way up under the cabinet, then back down into sink cavity to be connected to disposal. Is it too high to pump the water?

No.

Forgot one detail.

The disposal is new. Did I say that?

There is a plug in the drain connection of the disposal in case one does not have a dishwasher to connect to the disposal.

Works good  now.

I reconnected the sink drain connections and seemed to be OK. I thought so last time too.

Last chore in my way is getting rid of the aquarium and the rock. agony, oh agony.

 

4 thoughts on “Moving Right Along

  1. Aquariums are nice to stare into; very soothing and relaxing.
    What’s “Live Rock”? Is it like coral?
    One of the first things I bought for the house here was a new dishwasher. The old one my (soon-to-be) wife had was just flat worn out, and was starting to leak, I had a ton of “bonus points” on my credit card, and was able to get one for “free”, shipping included.

    The manual had a caution about knocking out the plug in the drain connection!

    And when I replaced out disposal unit, it also had a warning about knocking out the plug where the dishwasher drain connected to.

    • In a marine aquarium, live rock (now cultured) is a very porous rock that contains millions of photosynthetic organisms that process waste from fish and other specimens in the tank, converting ammonia into nitrites, then to much less harmful nitrates, which will be removed by regular water changes. The live rock I had came from the Fiji Islands. I probably dropped $800 just in rock alone. It comes varied in colors and from the ocean, one can never tell what “hitch-hikers” may be in the rock as well. The aquarist usually stacks the rock carefully in the tank, then places corals onto them at varied heights; depending on the species of corals.
      Yup, I knew better about the plug in the disposal. I’ll be 60 next month. I can hardly wait to see how my memory will deteriorate in the next 10-15 years.

  2. So this was a salt water aquarium?

    I’ve always heard they were a real PITA to keep properly maintained!

    • With any aquarium, one must do water changes regularly to keep the tank void of nitrates, which can build up over time. With corals in the tank, regular water changes replenish the salt and minerals that the corals utilize to thrive. I did 10 gallons a week, every week for a long time. The tank only had one fish, the rest of the specimens were varied corals. It was really beautiful at its peak. I fed the corals separately with their own special liquid food. The sand also creates a bed of helpful bacteria. At one time I had over fifty snails of various types. Creating an ecosystem; it can be fun but it does take a lot of time, which I used to have a lot of; not any more heh!

Comments are closed.