Back Home Again

My wife fell at school on Tuesday. She tends to avoid full disclosure, so I made a trip south for moral support and to satisfy my curiosity of her well being.
Apparently, she tripped on a protruding nail on a ramp going into her portable building. Carrying several milk crates full of file folders probably kept her from severe damage as they all broke her fall. Scraped knees, bruises here and there, and a scraped forehead made her look like a victim of domestic abuse.
She has not yet received her meds for the R/A and is now starting to get some joint inflammation.
My desk at home was covered with mail…waiting just for me. As it turns out, for some reason that has not been explained to me, the mortgage company did not pay the tax bill to the county or the city, and I now have two delinquent notices; one from each entity.
The mortgage company seemed eager to fix the problem, as it has already cost them some penalties. I must make sure that they do not pay the penalties out of my escrow account. If they don’t get the taxes paid by Tuesday, they will be in line for another set of penalties.
One of my tasks on Friday will be to fax the late notices to the mortgage company…Di-Tech. Stay away from these guys.
The ranch will be on hold whilst I take care of matters here.
The wife purchased a new vehicle in December (not what I would have done). It has a satellite radio as standard with a cute little antenna on the rear of the roof. It gives the car a higher profile, and tends to get bent backwards as she backs out of the garage. As it turns out, one of the pulleys on the bottom of the garage door was destroyed, not allowing the door to open completely. The pulley is a bitch to replace (I had done it before), and even though she had not admitted, I know she backed into the garage door with it closed, putting a sizeable dent in the bottom section of said door, and damaging the pulley.
To repair it, finesse and skill was required to repair it. I had replaced the torsion springs several years ago, and still had the rods that are used to wind up the springs.
It took about 45 minutes to fix, and the antenna no longer gets bent on the garage door.
Next project was to fill the water jugs, as I had taken twelve of them to the ranch, leaving 5 behind. The caps get damaged after a while from removing and replacing so new ones were required. I drove to a place in San Juan to buy some new ones, and the business had closed/sold. The new owners did not sell r/o water any more, but all equipment was still there, including a giant bag of lids which numbered into the hundreds. They gave them to me, and I gave them five bucks. Looks like I can sell them on Ebay.
I was forced to fill the jugs at the Windmill, which was OK. I got the tax documents faxed off to the mortgage company. Will have to keep an eye on them.
I dug around the fridge/freezer and found a 3 1/2 lb chunk of pork, so I made carnitas. Not bad. My first attempt.
Meds update:
The insurance company agreed to pay for her Enbrel (sp?) but cannot find a pharmaceutical company what will ship it to her…yet. The Enbrel costs about a grand per injection; once a week. The copay will be small.
Meanwhile, while she waits for the meds, her doc tripled her prednisone. Not good.
The swimming pool is a vile, dark green, habitat for crap growing on top. I cannot even see the bottom it is so filthy.
My original plan was to return Sunday to the ranch. I think I will put my return off a couple of days.
My brother in law is a computer whiz. He got a job last summer working for a company that is subcontracting for the University of Arlington.
The company changed hands and he has to go through another screening process. He asked me to confirm with his employer that I have seen his driver’s license…I haven’t. There’s something fishy about his past as I have heard that he got involved with some druggies in Florida, and changed his name back in the seventies before he married my wife’s sister. I’m not sure it the “name change” was done through courts or just himself.
He was a pilot for many years and smuggled electronics into Mexico back in the ’80s. After that he supposedly worked for American Airlines in the IT department.
I don’t really like him that much to commit felony fraud…he falls short of many of my expectations.
I asked him if I could actually see his license. I guess he thought I was joking…

2 thoughts on “Back Home Again

  1. Sorry to hear about your wife, Ex. That’s one thing my wife is paranoid about….one of us falling while the other isn’t there.

    After I had the stents installed I was on a bunch of new meds, and had an extreme allergic reaction to one. I broke out in hives so bad that it looked like my back took a load of rock salt from Farmer John’s 12 gauge as I was trying to steal some chickens!

    I had YUUUUGE red welts all over my back!

    The doctor switched out the meds and gave me some prednisone to help with the swelling and allergic reaction.

    It also made my joints feel better, but it can have some unpleasant side effects with long term use.

    Have “fun” with the garage door. I’ve had to replace the springs in ours, and that aint fun, either!

Leave a Reply

