More Gardening

As time ticks on, I had to plant the rest of the tomatoes that I had started. Please understand that I now have no fewer than 10 tomato plants (that’s a lot). I am losing a Chadwick Cherry. Too bad as it’s the only one of that variety that germinated. I  know there are more than that, I just am too lazy to walk over to the map and get an exact number.

I planted the rest of the peppers as well, not ending up with as many as I would have liked; one sweet banana pepper, and a mix of jalepeños, serranos, and Yolo wonders for a total of ten.

I did add two dozen more yellow onions, and a smattering of the delicata squash.

I think my logic was that I was hoping to have a corner of the cornfield for the extra tomatoes and peppers, not realizing that all it does in the cornfield is rain weeds.

The good news is that all seven rows of corn are now coming up. The bad news is that I will have to spend a morning on my hands and knees pulling weeds. It won’t be tomorrow as I am irrigating tonight.

My cabbages got attacked by cabbage worms. That stuff came in today and I sprayed. The worms also seemed to like the leaf lettuce next door.

I also put in the ground a dozen beets today.

I am still intending to plant at least three rows of okra, and the watermelons next month after I get back from Colorado. I suppose I could put the green beans on the trellis in the cornfield next to the melons.

The grapevine is showing signs of life as it now has a few leaves and  some new feelers coming out. I doubt if I’ll see grapes this year.

The strawbs are looking good. I gotta keep clipping the berries as they are June strawberry plants.

I have a pound of the delicata squash seeds. It may rain squash there later this summer.

Onward through the fog!

4 thoughts on “More Gardening

  1. Good luck with the garden. I’m way behind on mine. Had a heart attack the day before my birthday back in mid March, so I wasn’t able to do all my preps. Just what I always wanted. A stent for my birthday. Got out yesterday and started weeding. Still have a few weeks here in the Northeast before it’s safe to put out the tomatoes. Too late now for the cool weather stuff. Oh well, maybe next year………….

Leave a Reply

