FGOMB; The Final Chapter

I have a Campbell Hausfeld air compressor. It came with the ranch, but I paid for it. It is around twenty years old, and as far as I know, has worked flawlessly. Last year, the pressure switch failed, and my brother hot-wired it just so he could use it. He did not, however, replace the switch. I went to Ebay to find one and got a lesson in the zillion  possibilities of pressure switches available for that line of compressors. I finally narrowed it down and with the  help of Tri-City Tool Parts, purchased one and installed it. It even came with instructions.

The next thing that went wrong with it was the oil dipstick. While the compressor was running, cover your eyes as the dipstick became a projectile, flying across the shed. WTF? Why would the dipstick blast off from the crankcase?

Answer: it’s not just a dipstick; it’s also a breather…kinda critical to differentiate the two, and yet clever to incorporate them into one item. So the breather part of it obviously clogged, causing said crankcase to build up pressure, then launch it unexpectedly with a considerably loud ‘pop’ heard above the noise of the compressor.

Again, back to Tri-City Tools. These guys know their stuff. Take heed as X does not often endorse businesses because most of them have screwed him at one time or another.

Let’s talk about the local hardware store in town. It’s locally owned by one of the local millionaires, along with the laundromat, liquor store, and the Church’s Fried Chicken franchise. X bought a pair of hinges for his compost bin a few weeks ago, thinking that the original ones he purchased would not work. He proved that wrong as he did use the original hinges on the compost bin hatch. The stainless steel hinges he purchased later were a bit expensive; 12 bucks for the both of them. They are like the type of hinges one would put on an outside door (small town hardware store; they have everything, but only one).

X ventured into town the other day to return them, and much to his surprise, they would not take them back because well, the purchase was over 30 days old.

Now, X has a little anger management problem; every now and then he has to fight within to keep it under control. He held up the receipt to the girl and said “Home Depot puts the last day one can return an item here (pointing to the bottom of the receipt) so they won’t make up some bullshit policy in between. You can keep the hinges. I can’t use ’em.”

X discovered that he now has too many tow straps he purchased to bring the tree down. You may ask: X, why did you use tow straps instead of a good rope?

X: Well, the tow straps had a specification of 7000 lbs; the rope about 120 lbs.

Case closed.

Chain? yep, but very costly.

He will only need one of these tow straps, as the yard guy cut off the tops of the mesquite tree, hence not requiring a long strap to avoid being crushed as X pulls the tree over with the Mighty Ranger Edge, and that brings us to the conclusion to this particular story. (whew! no pauses in that sentence).

Here is a pic of the cow shed roof, minus the mesquite tree.

And here is a pic of the downed mesquite tree, courtesy of the mighty Ranger Edge…

There are some pretty good sized chunks of mesquite in there. Unfortunately, they will have to be stacked and allowed to season for a year or so.

I saw a smoker at Home Depot with the side wood box for under $200. It’s not the heavy gage metal, but still as cheap as I have seen. Might tempting, but then my wife would say “who are you gonna cook for? You don’t have any friends, and your family wants naught to do with you any more.”

I can dream can’t I?

See behind the gate there is yet another mesquite branch needing trimming. Out of picture shot to the right is another mesquite tree that is threatening to fall onto the fence. Yard guy is “working on it”.

My wife says to let him go, and to the work myself. Perhaps tomorrow I will practice cutting mesquite into logs with my chainsaw.

I moved the compost bin out to the garden in my frenzy of “getting things done” this afternoon. I was anxious to dump my four bags of Fox Farms Ocean Floor potting soil into it so as to kill off the gnat eggs. Yeah, I read that somewhere…it was a little annoying in the last round.

So I hauled the compost bin via  Ranger (gave it another scratch…damn!) to the garden. I unloaded it, and wrestled it through the gate, to its final resting place.

I then back up the Ranger to the back patio, and loaded up the Fox Farms potting soil, then proceeded to dump them into the compost bin.

OK, no big deal…until I closed the hatch and spun ‘er. The hatch opened when it passed 6 ‘ clock position, and dumped a  huge amount of said Fox Farms soil onto the ground.

Damn! I scraped up what I could back into the bin, and now will have to search for a different latch method. Something like that would use a padlock…to turn and latch it rather than the bolt barrel system…not gonna work.

This morning, I went to town to go to the post office to mail our tax return to my wife’s new investment folks for her dwindling 401k. Her original broker, Edward Jones, seemed to have their own interests at heart instead of the clients, so  my wife dumped them.

Next to the hardware store to return the extra tow strap; also purchased a new latch for the compost bin.

Next, to the pharmacy.

My Dr appt is Wednesday am. I plan to leave town and head south to visit the wife for a few days right after that. As long as I get there by 3:00 to avoid school traffic.

7 thoughts on “FGOMB; The Final Chapter

  1. You *have* been busy!

    I’ve been driving, towing, and doing some minor unpacking and sorting. We brought a limited amount of stuff here to this place.

    We’re looking at FIVE houses today. Three are close to each other, well….close for out here, one is about half way back, and the last one is maybe a 15 minute drive from here.

    Yep, we’re out in the sticks, at least compared to where we used to live…..

  2. “it’s not just a dipstick; it’s also a breather” — I’d never heard that before but it makes total sense. Good info.

    Hey, thanks for stopping by my blog, appreciate your view on things. Was going to ask, the frame/borer – are those .223’s?

    • Hi Dave! Glad you could stop in! The ammo on the background is labeled as “loose ammo”. I got the idea from Walter Zoomie’s place. I honestly don’t know what caliber it is. I had thought I did a search at the time for 30.06, but not sure.

  3. “Chain? yep, but very costly”

    And HEAVY. And at least in my experience, more dangerous when they fail. Don’t get me started on steel cable.

Leave a Reply

