Monday March 4

I got outa bed at noon today, only because the wife had already been up a while.

I finally heard from my son in the Air Force. I got this new app called ‘Signal’ that’s kind of a messaging service; kind of…like sending a chat and get a reply when convenient. Anyway, he did not know when he was returning to the States, but did mention that he had moved again in Tucson. As usual, Dad is the last one to find out.

I was thinking spring time, but it may be longer.

Cloudy today, with a high in the 80s.

The trash has been emptied, and now awaits transport to the curbside.

If there is no curb, then is there no curbside as well?

The wife has returned to bed with some pain..taking ibuprofen and rest for a while.

Lil’ SIL is excited about she and the wife driving to Ft Worth this weekend; the wife is not so enthusiastic.

SIL is also excited that her little sisters are coming up for a visit, although SIL still believes they are coming up to see her. The wife? maybe, Lil’ SIL…not so much. SIL usually monopolizes all their time with her petty bullshit plans to go shopping for knick knacks and paddywacks. The wife gets her fill of SIL quickly…not to mention BIL who will insist that everyone go to the movies (that’s his weakness)…and then of course they must all go out to eat; at least once…

I am certain there will be talk of a SIL visit to one of her little sisters; very soon.

This song was the end credits for the remake of “The Thomas Crown Affair” with Pierce Brosnan and Renee Russo…IMO, a better version than the original with Steve McQueen and Faye Dunaway, although a bit more “revealing” shall we say? but who’s complaining?

After SIL and BIL’s trip abroad last year, and their getting pickpocketed outside a famous cathedral in Paris, it told me 2 things:

1. the French are not religious

2. You’ve got to pick a pocket or two

I’m just layin’ low for BIL to poke fun at me for the ding dang kittycats…then, I’ll remind him of the $$$ he lost in Paris..

With the wife gone a couple days, there very likely could be an accident that could result in a missing kittycat.

 

 

4 thoughts on “Monday March 4

  1. I retired Air Guard 20 years ago. When you walked in the Commo shop the personal cell phone got locked in a cabinet while on duty. While on duty you could be carrying a military cell phone. The camera was disabled and no personal calls.

    On my dream sheet of preferred duty stations I had all European locations. I got assigned to Tampa to the first Joint unit. After 4 years I go re-assigned to Tampa 4 months before re-enlistment. They were going to keep me in the same unit that constantly busted my balls. I got out and joined a Combat Comm Guard unit in GA. Two months later that Guard unit became a support unit of my active duty company. It took 12 years to get away from that command. Anytime something happened in the world I would get sent on a long plane ride to set up a communications site back to Tampa. It was always on birthdays, anniversaries, or special occasions.

    The last 8 years I had transferred into a Combat Comm unit that had recently moved to Atlanta. Because of my past military history I was the resident expert on their tactical telephone switch and multiplexer van. I was quickly promoted to Master Sargent. Things changed 3 years later when the manning document eliminated my position. I cross-trained to Satellite communications and finished my carrier. The two most deployable carrier fields are telephone switch and Satcom. I was both.

Leave a comment