Tuesday April 16

Up at 9 am, and off to the doc in the big city at 10:45.

Overall, the checkup was good at the pulmonologist today. According to their scale, I was down to 277 lbs, which was about 15 lbs down from my last doctor visit at the heart dude.

And, it would seem that now my weight is an issue contributing to my shortness of breath. The doc signed me up at a pulmonary rehab exercise class they provide, in hopes of getting me “reconditioned”.

I doubt it I’d last long if I used that cadence as my exercise motivator…

We also discussed a different inhaler…Trelegy I think it was called. I guess we’ll have to wait to see how much THAT will cost.

He showed me the results of the Cpap data, all of which was very good. He quizzed about that, and I replied that my biggest beef was that I had to lose the beard. BUT I was sleeping for 6-8 hours uninterrupted, and that was a record for me in the past 10 years.

This was the doc that pushed the Kung Flu vax on me, and when I refused, he acted like I hurt his widdoe feelings. So solly…

It’s always something.

We next went to get the oil changed in the wife’s car. Way too long a wait at that place, and $75 for the oil change.

Ah yes, I remember the days of $19.95 oil changes, and how I scoffed at those poor bastids paying for an oil change, when I did mine for 5 qts of oil and a filter..times change.

The wife wants to get the windshield replaced in her car as well.$$$

And she thinks she needs new tires $$$$$$$$$

I went out to the mailbox, and still no Rockefeller name on said mailbox..

9 thoughts on “Tuesday April 16

  1. I couldn’t sing along with the cadence just sitting in my chair. Forget about exercising to it. These days i get exercise: flying off the handle, jumping to conclusions, running around in circles.

  2. Tires, I just dropped $1800 on a new set of tires for the F350. Yet to be installed. I still need the Pittman Arm and steering dampener replaced. I have the parts but have not found he time to do the work.

    There is a shop that charges $25 for an oil change. The next F350 oil change I will supply the oil and filter for a $25 oil change. I will have them install a Fulmoto valve to make it easy for me to do oil changes. Oil and filters it is $90 in parts only.

    • The price for the wife’s oil change jumped when we went to synthetic, as it lasts longer between changes….and given that the “change oil” indicator has been on for months, likely a better choice.

      • I was buying the fuel and oil for the farm back in the 90’s. I got bulk pricing because I bought the 15w45 tractor oil in a 55 gallon drum. If I purchased a 5 gallon bucket of oil for the car at the same time I got the 55 gallon I would get the same price brake on the 5 gallon bucket. I still buy in bulk. Shell Rotella T6 is $12 a quart, $29 for a 5 qt jug, $62 for 2.5 gal jug, and $98 for a 5 gal bucket. The F350 takes 15 quarts for an oil change. The last oil change they were out of the 5 gal buckets so I got two 2.5 jugs. I have not needed to change the oil since the move but it is coming up and I have started looking for a supplier.

  3. Eight hours of sleep is good. I only get about five overnight where the CPAP really makes a difference. I take about an hour nap after supper. Years of putting my son (Special Needs) on the short bus which always picked him up prior to 6 am. No way was Mom going to wake up – it was up to me. Eight years of that gets to be a habit where I am today.

    Oil change for me (six quarts and a replacement filter) is at Wal-Mart for about $40. I used to change my oil too, but the pickup foot rail really makes it hard to access under carriage. Man, if I only had my Suburban 4×4 back …

    • Man, I hear you about scooting under the step rail on the pickup.
      The previous Cpap I had worked great, until it ran out of water. That caused me to dry up and have to get up, which ruined the entire concept, so I quit.
      The new one lasts 8 hours easily with a full water tank…

Leave a comment