Sunday May 5

According to my weather app, it was supposed to be thunderstorming now; but noooo, they moved it to 5 pm.

More cheerful news. SIL has managed to push her way into Lil’ SIL’s house for a visit next week. If that wasn’t bad enough, SIL changed her plans, and decided to come a day early. Lil’ SIL said ‘no’, but caved in. Now, I am certain that SIL is trying to finagle a way to get over here.

The wife made it abundantly clear to SIL that they would not be staying overnight here, yet her she comes; barreling in…why? to see what we got? The house is a mess. the yard is overgrown, yet here she comes.

Lil’ SIL said she was not going to let them come, but SIL is kind of a bully, and usually gets her way with the younger sisters. I am certain that SIL will make an escape attempt from Lil’ SIL’s to get over here. After all, Lil’ SIL and Jack are not going to tolerate those assholes for 3 days sitting on their asses waiting to get fed.

This episode will not end well.

The wife will likely be going back to the doctor tomorrow, as she has not been cured with the tiny dosage of antibiotics she received on her visit last week. She is better, but not cured. I will withhold bringing them any more banana bread until she is cured. So much for trying to grease the palms.

4 thoughts on “Sunday May 5

  1. No advice to give for SIL being an inconsiderate witch, but will share something that the Texas legislature did that allows property insurers to screw their policy holders even more when it comes to filing a homeowner’s claim. And now it has been affirmed by Texas courts. Won’t explain in detail since a link with an easy to understand explanation is included. We’re fighting the same insurance company and have learned they and their parent (who advertises big time on television) have spent the last 10 years specializing in how to deny, deny, deny claims. In our case it is a low ball offer to settle a roof claim; the bastards use a manufactured database designed to give low estimates for labor and materials. 

    So here’s the punchline for you Texans: when a sleazeball insurer lowballs you and will not budge there are but few ways to escalate the matter in hopes of getting fair treatment. One way is to hire an attorney to sue over what hopefully will be ruled a violation of Texas insurance law. The kicker, thanks to the court ruling: if you win the insurer cannot be forced by the court to pay your legal fees, which then reduces your net “win” to fix your property damage, to say nothing of all the time spent getting there. And to make matters worse, the court ruling gives the sleazeballs all the more incentive to lowball their policy holders. ’nuff said. Oh yeah: FJB.

    https://www.texaswatch.org/blog/supreme-court-alert-insurance

  2. The summer I was 21 I was driving an cab over 18 wheeler open side trailer hauling freight in Florida. The open side was for an 8’x8’x8′ wooden freight box and 6 of them could be loaded on the trailer. The route followed the coast in FL then across I-10 back to Jacksonville for a one and half day route with stops as necessary. My girlfriend’s parents had a beach house at Ponte Vedra Beach that was not used during the week and I stayed there during the week when I was in Jacksonville. Yes, the GF was way out of my league. Tom Petty owned the beach house next door. I never saw him but Waylon Jennings spent the summer there and threw a party every night. Different rockers and country musicians may be there but there was always the grill going, booze, keg beer, girls, and pot there every night. Very good pot. I did see Roy Orbison there but I didn’t get to meet him. I was welcomed as the trucker kid that lived next door. I had many steaks over there and went into work the next day where my blood alcohol content was probably higher than the legal amount. The GF did not like me going over there after I carried her over for Sunday night party. She said that she was hit on by every guy there but me and Waylon. I had to help her back to her beach house because she was so trashed. But Waylon was a good dude that treated me like a little brother.

Leave a comment