Thursday May 23

The wife was up today at 7:30 so she could get in to the doctor early. I got up too, not quite when she did, but managed to get out of the house by 9:30 after the usual morning routine. She actually came home before I left, as she called in her new script to Walgreen’s in the big city, since I was going there.

And indeed I went. I first stopped at HD to check out their ac units, and I found the one I saw online for less. If I’d had my pickup, I woulda bought two. With some further research, I discovered that model does not heat…sorry Charlie.

Back to square one.

Liquor store was next, and they did finish the parking lot paving.

On to the pharmacy where I paid a whopping $1.66 for the wife’s meds.

Grocery store next and last stop; well, almost. Busier than I liked but I rarely get everything I want.

But then, who does?

I’ll have to discuss further what to do about the a/c situation. Maybe get the cheaper cooling only, and get space heaters?

Are you kidding me man? with all those damn cats?

OK right. What was I thinking…

Now, on the other hand, the electric space heaters have an interlock switch on the bottom…so if a kitty cat knocks it over, they freeze their asses off…

Now you’re talkin’…

On the way home, I stopped at the nearest Whataburger to pick up a couple of their limited time Steakhouse Double Bacon burger..sounds good, don’t it? Crap. So dry, just like the damn chili burger I got from that same store…must be the cook. I won’t be getting another. The other one was for the kid, as she is a Whataburger fanatic. Be sure to eat a pickle with it so your mouth ain’t so dry. The only good thing about Whataburger is their giant drinking straws.

WBHQ24-Q2-2024-Newsroom-Banner-900x428-Final

Again, maybe it’s my damned taste buds revolting agin me..

 

12 thoughts on “Thursday May 23

  1. I am doing the AC research right now also. I have 800sq/ft to heat and cool. I also have to watch the amps it pulls as I only have 75-77amps available at the breaker box. I am looking at the split system Costway 18000 BTU with a 19 SEER rating that only draws 8.5 amps for $742.

    Never bother with any specialty burger at Whataburger. They are always crap. Stick with the basic cheeseburger or double with the normal condiments. Whataburger doesn’t make the top 10 list of burger joints for me.

      • Whataburger just made it to Georgia last year. It has been over 10 years since I had Whataburger out west. I remember the steakhouse burger, nacho cheese burger, BBQ/Cole slaw burger, and a peppers with onions burger where all of them were lousy burgers.

      • I rarely do burger joints. I have been to one burger place in the last 6 months. That was a Five Guys last weekend.

        When I was installing satellite dishes I would have a crew and they wanted burgers at lunch way too often.

      • BK, that one also takes a backseat. My list of preferred chains:

        Wayback Burgers

        Five Guys

        Smashburger (local to GA)

        Fuddruckers

        Bubba’s Bistro (local to GA)

        Yeah Burger (local to GA)

        Johnny Rocket’s

        Shake Shack {regional}

        Waffle House (only the 1/3 lb patty)

        Cook Out

  2. Spring for the A/C only and a propane heater.
    The modern electric heaters aren’t like the ones we had growing up.

    Or- make her buy the heater since the price will curl your toes.
    I’ve got a Dynaglow (they’re all the same, just different names anymore) with three ceramic cells that will more than heat the 14×16 main room of an uninsulated ranch house (as long as a strong N. wind isn’t blowing) no matter how cold it was in 2021.

  3. Most of those Whataburger ‘Specialties’ need a bit of help. We normally take a chunked avocado and spread one half in each burger. I hate that their lettuce is cut so thin – it falls out too easily.

    jrg

Leave a comment